Official: Alonso receives 5 seconds penalty and loses 2 places

Official: Alonso receives 5 seconds penalty and loses 2 places

Fernando Alonso was sanctioned by the FIA ​​race stewards after the finish of the Canadian Grand Prix. The Alpine F1 driver was guilty of zigzagging past Valtteri Bottas at the end of the race, and the decision of the Stewards Office explains that this is a breach of Article 2 b) of Chapter IV, Appendix L, of the FIA ​​International Sporting Code.

“Between turns 10 and 12, on the penultimate lap of the race, car 14 made repeated directional changes to defend against car 77, which had to release the throttle at some point and briefly lost momentum.”

“While noting the driver’s argument that at no time was car 77 next to car 14, the Stewards consider this to be a clear breach of the above regulations The stewards therefore impose a 5 second time penalty in line with that imposed for a similar incident at the 2022 Australian GP.”

This penalty suits Alfa Romeo F1, since Bottas is promoted to seventh, and Guanyu Zhou to eighth. Alpine and Alfa Romeo neutralize each other and score the same number of points in Canada, with ten points each. Alpine is eight points behind McLaren and ahead of Alfa Romeo by six points.

No sanctions for Vettel

For his part, Sebastian Vettel was accused of not having respected the safety car procedure. This investigation had prompted Aston Martin F1 to ask him to let Lance Stroll, who finished tenth, pass. But the German was not punished for having left more than ten lengths behind the car in front of him.

“After initially closing in on the car ahead as part of the Safety Car procedure for some time, Car 5 failed to comply with the 10 length rule. However, towards the end of the Safety Car period , she made up the gap and then maintained the required position until the race resumed.”

“The stewards also note that there were other drivers who failed to comply with the 10-car rule at various points in the procedure, but all were compliant at the end of the Safety period. Car. Therefore, the Stewards conclude that a penalty for car 5 is not appropriate in these circumstances.”

The final classification of the race

pos. Pilot Car Gap Stops
01 Max Verstappen Red Bull RBPT RB18 70 lapses – 1h36m21.757s 2
02 carlos sainz Ferrari F1-75 +0.993 2
03 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes W13 +7.006 2
04 george russell Mercedes W13 +12.313 2
05 Charles Leclerc Ferrari F1-75 +15.168 1
06 Esteban Ocon Alpine Renault A522 +23.890 2
07 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo Ferrari C42 +25.247 1
08 Guanyu-Zhou Alfa Romeo Ferrari C42 +26.952 2
09 Fernando Alonso Alpine Renault A522 +29.945 (+5s) 2
10 Lance Stroll Aston Martin Mercedes AMR22 +38.222 1
11 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren Mercedes MCL36 +43.047 2
12 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin Mercedes AMR22 +44.245 2
13 Alex Albon Williams Mercedes FW44 +44.893 2
14 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri RBPT AT03 +45.183 2
15 Lando Norris McLaren Mercedes MCL36 +52.145 2
16 Nicholas Latifi Williams Mercedes FW44 +59.978 2
17 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari VF-22 +68.180 1
18 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri RBPT AT03 DNF 2
19 Mick Schumacher Haas Ferrari VF-22 DNF 0
20 Sergio Perez Red Bull RBPT RB18 DNF 0

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *